Shared Cultural Heritage: Travel compensation

Dutch organizations are eligible to apply for the Travel compensation in preparation of their shared heritage activity.

The Travel compensation supports Dutch heritage professionals who wish to visit one of the ten partner countries: Australia, Brazil, India, Indonesia, Japan, Russia, South Africa,  Sri Lanka, Suriname, United States.

The purpose of the Travel compensation is to improve shared heritage projects. Dutch legal entities have the opportunity to apply for compensation to travel to one of the ten partner countries. By doing so, they will enhance their local network and gain a better understanding of the local circumstances. This in turn will strengthen their shared heritage project, and improve the project’s sustainability.

An application needs to be submitted no later than six weeks prior to departure. The scheme covers the cost of a return ticket to one of the ten partner countries.

The Travel regulation is part of the Shared Cultural Heritage Matching Fund, which has been managed by DutchCulture since 2013. This fund has been made available by the Ministries of Foreign Affairs and of Education, Culture and Science.